All You Need to Know about Google+ Shut Down on 2 , April

Google+ is going away on April 2, which means all of your Google+ content — including pages, photos, and videos — will disappear with it.

0 731

Google+ is going away on April 2, which means all of your Google+ content — including pages, photos, and videos — will disappear with it.

One of the main reasons that Google+ will be shut down can be linked to the data breach that happened on the platform. Over 500,000 accounts had their personal and private information illegally shared without consent by a number of developers. This event happened on March 2018, which was during the same time that Facebook was under intense scrutiny due to the Cambridge Analytica data scandal, and months before GDPR was launched.

On Google’s official Keyword blog, David Thacker, Vice President of Product Management for G Suite, explained the decision. Thacker said, “With the discovery of this new bug, we have decided to expedite the shut-down of all Google+ APIs; this will occur within the next 90 days. In addition, we have also decided to accelerate the sunsetting of consumer Google+ from August 2019 to April 2019.”

Even though the website failed to compete against the likes of Facebook, the platform has seen a small but loyal user base.

 

What does that mean for you?

It means that you need to export all your content from the social networking platform now, The company clarified that photos and videos uploaded on Google Photos would not be deleted from the service. Google account-linked like Gmail and YouTube too would continue to work and only the Google + account would be deleted.

 

If you’re a Youtuber/Creator, then your Google+ Page will be deleted as well, so follow this link  to create a brand channel and resume your creativity.

Check out what other projects, sites and apps were killed by Google.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.